## Old Scotch Football Club THIRD XVIII PREMIERSHIPS 1971, 1995 & 2017

Welcome back to "Crackers Chronicles". This week we will trace some of the history of the Old Scotch Football Club by recounting the contributions made by some of our lesser known players.

To celebrate the success on Sunday of our Thirds winning the 2017 Premier B Thirds Section premiership, I thought we should recount some of the history of our Social/Warriors/Club XVIII/Thirds. In 1961, the club founded a third senior team to afford players that failed to attain selection in either our Reserves or Under 19s teams the chance to play football.

From **1961 – 1970**, the team operated on a predominantly informal social basis. The annual fixture consisted of games against APS and other school teams, plus other VAFA clubs. However, in 1971 the *Old Scotch Collegians Football Club* was a prime-mover in formalising this competition under the banner "Club XVIII".

In **1971**, *Old Scotch* captained and coached by Peter Wood, and known as the "Warriors", 8.8.56 defeated *Powerhouse/Old Haileybury* 6.1.37 to win the inaugural *Club XVIII* premiership. The grandfinal was played at 11:30am on 28 August 1971 at Flinders Park (the home ground of the AMP Society FC & the ANZ Bank FC) and now Rod Laver Arena. The 1971 Best & Fairest was Geoff McCracken.

Peter Wood (C) FB: Richard Smith Ross Boulter HB: Andrew Kaye Steve Wilson **Dave Garrett** Dave Johnston John Head Ian Symington C: HF: Geoff McCracken Phil Wright Rob Ball Chris Nixon Chris Finch (VC) Chris Alenson FF:

RUCKS: Ross McLean Roger Gibbons

ROVER: Ray Sneddon

19<sup>th</sup>: Geoff Speed 20<sup>th</sup>: Rob Garnsworthy

Goals: McLean 3, Sneddon 2, Garnsworthy, McCracken, Wright Best: McLean, Boulter, Johnston, Gibbons, McCracken, Nixon

It was not until 24 years later in **1995** that *Old Scotch*, coached by Simon Illingworth & captained by Scott Montgomery, 8.12.60 defeated *Old Xaverians Crocs* 8.9.57 at 2:00pm on 20 August 1995 at Elsternwick Park to win only our second *Club XVIII* premiership. The 1995 Best & Fairest was Nick Tribe.

Matt Clunies-Ross Michael Bingley Scott Montgomery (C) HB: Heath Middleton Andrew Aston **Andrew Chambers** James Geddes C: Michael Godwin Nick Tribe HF: Rod McLeish Jarrod Deakin Cam Knight David Hooper Darren Bingley Peter Sherwen FF:

RUCKS: Paul Williamson David Bini

ROVER: David Norman

INTERCH: Simon Illingworth Brad Aujard Stuart Sheahan Stephen Pryde Jonathan West Chris Thomas Brett Langley Doug Murtagh

Goals: Aston 2, Bingley 2, Bini, Deakin, Norman, Pryde Best: Godwin, Tribe, D Bingley, M Bingley, Aston, Pryde

Now, 22 years on in **2017**, *Old Scotch* coached by Paul Gregor & Terry "Crackers" Kendell, and captained by John Stavris (who unfortunately due to injury did not play) 10.16.76 has defeated *De La Salle* 2.6.18 at 9:20am on Sunday 3 September 2017 at Elsternwick Park to win only our third premiership and first *Thirds* premiership. Jack Otter was named Best on Ground in the grand final.

FB: James Parsell Nick Lindsay Chris Perrott
HB: Matthew Tyler Nick Stavris Dom McDermott
C: Jack Slobom Nick Sheehan Jack McIntosh

HF: Andrew Hayes Will Michael Richard Goodey (Act C)

FF: Corey Mackenzie Ned Walmsley Jack Otter

RUCKS: Harry McCallum Tim Melville

ROVER: Luke Daggian

INTERCH: Will Hewson Mitch Bradley Stephen Filippou

Josh Gordon John McLellan Brenton Morley

Goals: Otter 3, Morley 2, Filippou, Hayes, Michael, Sheehan, Walmsley

Best: Otter, Lindsay, McCallum, Daggian, McDermott, Tyler

## Old Scotch Football Club THIRD XVIII PREMIERSHIPS 1971, 1995 & 2017

Well folks, that about covers our three *Third XVIII* premierships. Check in again next season when we will focus on our **34 club captains**.

I hope you found this, and all my columns this season, interesting ... I welcome any feedback to  $\underline{\mathsf{gmccracken@oldscotchfc.com.au}}$